> Home > News & Publications >  News Releases > Winners for The 2015 Trillium Book Award Announced

News Releases

Winners for The 2015 Trillium Book Award Announced

Winners of Ontario’s foremost prize for literary excellence, the Trillium Book Award, were announced at a dinner hosted by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC).

  • This year’s winner for the Trillium Book Award in English-language is:
    Kate Cayley, How You Were Born
    (Pedlar Press)
  • The winner for the Trillium Book Award in French-language is:
    Michel Dallaire, Violoncelle pour lune d’automne  
    (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

  • This year’s English-language winner for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry is:      
    Brecken Hancock, Broom Broom (Coach House Books)

  • The winner for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature  in French-language is:
    Micheline Marchand, Mauvaise mine 
    (Les Éditions L’Interligne)


“Since the Trillium Book Award was created nearly three decades ago, it has recognized many of our province’s most accomplished and influential writers. This year’s winners are no exception. Their talent and creativity contributes to Ontario’s vibrant literary scene, and we are proud to honour them with this award.”

- The Hon. Michael Coteau, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

“The winners of the 2015 Trillium Book Award reflect the depth of Ontario’s literary talent.  Congratulations to the new and established authors and their publishers for enriching our lives by continuing to create stories that we celebrate at home and share with readers around the world.”

 - Kevin Shea, Chair, Ontario Media Development Corporation


  • The Trillium Book Award is among the most highly regarded national and international literary prizes. Previous winners have included world-renowned writers Margaret Atwood, Austin Clarke, Thomas King, Alice Munro, Andrée Lacelle and François Paré.
  • The Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French-language is awarded in alternating years with the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French-language. The Trillium Book Award for Poetry recognizes literary achievement for a first, second or third published work of poetry.
  • Trillium Book Award English-language and French-language winners receive $20,000. Publishers of the winning books each receive $2,500 towards their promotional costs. The respective winners of the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English-language and the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French-language each receive $10,000 and their publishers receive $2,000. All finalists receive a $500 honorarium.
  • Ontario's book publishing industry’s $1.23 billion in revenues represents almost two-thirds of national industry revenues


The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award (Backgrounder available) in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and their works. Ontario Media Development Corporation manages the Trillium Book Awards. Read about this year’s winners and finalists here.

The Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport that facilitates economic development opportunities for Ontario’s cultural media industries including book and magazine publishing, film and television, music and interactive digital media industries.


Ontario is a global hub for content creation and distribution. From digital innovation to literature, Ontario’s cultural sectors contribute billions of dollars to the economy, employ hundreds of thousands of people and power some of the world’s most innovative content.

For investors and creators, businesses and consumers, OMDC’s investment funds and programs help bring a wealth of opportunity to Ontario. Be part of it and visit OMDC.on.ca

to learn more.

Contact Trillium Book Award Finalists:

Jo Hatt, Trillium Book Award Publicist
Narrative PR

416-922-2211 x 3349
Email: Joanna.hatt@narrative.ca

Contact for OMDC:

Sharon Wilson, Communications Officer

Email: swilson@omdc.on.ca

Contacts for Minister Coteau:

Blane McPhail - Minister’s Office


Mark L. Smith

MTCS Communications Branch



Ontario Media Development Corporation

175 Bloor Street East | South Tower | Suite 501 Toronto | Ontario M4W 3R8

Direct phone: 416-642-6652 | Main phone: 416-314-6858 | Fax: 416-314-6876