> Home > News & Publications >  News Releases > WINNERS FOR THE 2016 TRILLIUM BOOK AWARD ANNOUNCED

News Releases


Winners of Ontario’s foremost prize for literary excellence, the Trillium Book Award, were announced at a dinner hosted by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC).

  • This year’s winner for the Trillium Book Award in English-language is:
    Kevin Hardcastle, Debris (Biblioasis)

  • The winner for the Trillium Book Award in French-language is:
    Véronique-Marie Kaye, Marjorie Chalifoux (Éditions Prise de parole)

  • This year’s English-language winner for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry is:      
    Soraya Peerbaye, Tell: poems for a girlhood (Pedlar Press)

  • The winner for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French-language is:
    David Ménard, Neuvaines (Les Éditions L’Interligne)


“I am delighted to recognize the great talent of this year’s Trillium Book Award winners. Their work gives us so much — both as a fundamental part of our creative economy, and by telling the stories of who we are as Ontarians. I want to thank the authors for contributing to the rich cultural fabric of our province, and their publishers for helping to make it possible.”

- Eleanor McMahon, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport


The Trillium Book Award honours the contribution of Ontario’s talented authors to the cultural and economic well-being of our province. Congratulations to this year’s winners and all of the finalists and their publishers who play such a vital role in ensuring that we can share our collective stories with the world.”

 - Mark Sakamoto, Chair, Ontario Media Development Corporation

QUICK FACTS                                                                                     

  • The Trillium Book Award is among the most highly regarded national and international literary prizes. Previous winners have included world-renowned writers Margaret Atwood, Austin Clarke, Thomas King, Alice Munro, Andrée Lacelle and François Paré.
  • The Trillium Book Award for Poetry recognizes literary achievement for a first, second or third published work of poetry.
  • Trillium Book Award English-language and French-language winners receive $20,000. Publishers of the winning books each receive $2,500 towards their promotional costs. The respective winners of the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English-language and the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French-language each receive $10,000 and their publishers receive $2,000. All finalists receive a $500 honorarium.
  • Ontario's book publishing industry’s $1.23 billion in revenues represents almost two-thirds of national industry revenues


The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award (Backgrounder available) in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and their works. Ontario Media Development Corporation manages the Trillium Book Awards. Read about this year’s winners and finalists click here.

The Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport that facilitates economic development opportunities for Ontario’s cultural media industries including book and magazine publishing, film and television, music and interactive digital media industries.


Ontario is a global hub for content creation and distribution. From digital innovation to literature, Ontario’s cultural sectors contribute billions of dollars to the economy, employ hundreds of thousands of people and power some of the world’s most innovative content.

For investors and creators, businesses and consumers, OMDC’s investment funds and programs help bring a wealth of opportunity to Ontario. Be part of it and visit OMDC.on.ca

to learn more.

Contact Trillium Book Award Finalists:

Georgia Boutsalis
Media Profile
c: 647-468-5181

Contact for OMDC:

Sharon Wilson, Communications Officer                                                                          
Email: swilson@omdc.on.ca                        


Contacts for Minister McMahon:

Jesse Wright, Minister’s Office, 416-314-4266
Denelle Balfour, Communications Branch, 416-326-1724               


Disponible en français