OMDC Newsletter
Spring 2017

Amping Up Support for Ontario Music

Province Providing 190 Grants to Create Jobs and Boost Innovation in the Music Sector

Eleanor McMahon, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport announced $15million for Ontario Music Fund at CMW 2017.

“Ontario is home to a diverse music industry that draws people from all over to take advantage of our world class recording facilities and to experience our vibrant live music scene. Ontario is the best place to record and perform music in Canada, and through the Ontario Music Fund our government continues to invest in this dynamic sector.” Eleanor McMahon , Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport 

“As a recipient, Canadian Music Week can attest to the effectiveness of the Ontario Music Fund. The investment we’ve received bolsters our ability to attract international companies and our status as ‘ground zero’ for global interest in Ontario artists. The Government of Ontario can rightfully take a bow for amping up interest in Canadian artists around the world with this initiative. And we applaud them for it.”  Neill Dixon, Canadian Music Week 

Congrats to the OMF-supported* and Ontario winners of Indie Awards at CMW!

  • Album of the Year | A Tribe Called Red*
  • We Are the Halluci Nation (Pirates Blend)
  • Single of the Year | Songwriter of the Year | the Strumbellas* |  We Don't Know (Six Shooter) | Spirits; We Don't Know (Six Shooter)
  • Group of the Year | July Talk*(Sleepless)
  • Alternative Artist/Group of the Year | Weaves (Buzz)
  • Electronic/Dance Artist/Group of the Year | Zeds Dead* (Deadbeats)
  • Pop Artist/Group of the Year | Repartee* (Sleepless)
  • Rap/R&B Artist/Group of the Year | Clairmont the Second (Black Box)
  • Rock Artist/Group of the Year | Pup* (Royal Mountain)

2017 JUNO Awards

OMDC’s Ontario JUNO Award 2017 Nominee Celebration | Mark Sakamoto, OMDC Chair, Karen Thorne-Stone, OMDC President and CEO,  Han Dong, MPP with JUNO Award Winner | The Strumbellas Winner of Single of the Year for "Spirits"! 

On March 23, 2017, OMDC hosted a reception honouring the amazing musicians and Ontario talent nominated for a JUNO Award. Karen Thorne-Stone, OMDC’s President & CEO, Allan Reid, President & CEO of CARAS, The JUNO Awards and MusiCounts , MPP Han Dong and OMDC’s Mark Sakamoto congratulated the nominees and the music industry on their contribution to our creative and economic economy.Watch our JUNO Award nominee sizzle reel here.

Ontario garnered quite a few JUNO Awards including these nine OMF-supported JUNO Award winners: A Tribe Called Red, Alessia Cara, The Dirty Nil, Exco Levi, Jazz Cartier, July Talk, Shawn Mendes, The Strumbellas and The Tragically Hip.
Below are a few more photos of Ontario nominees and winners from OMDC’s JUNO reception. For a full list of nominees and winners click here.

JUNO Award Winner |World Music Album Of The Year| Okavango African Orchestra, Okavango African Orchestra   Exco Levi "Official Page" Winner Reggae Recording Of The Year
The Fretless |Winner Instrumental Album Of The Year   Paul Reddick | Winner Blues Album Of The Year Ride The One

  • Group Of The Year: The Tragically Hip, Man Machine Poem
  • Songwriter Of The year: Gord Downie for “The Stranger,” “The Only Place to Be” and “Son” from Secret Path
  • Pop Album Of the Year: Alessia Cara, Know-It-All
  • Fan Choice Award: Shawn Mendes
  • Single Of The Year: The Strumbellas, “Spirits.”
  • Breakthrough Group Of The Year: The Dirty Nil.
  • Adult Alternative Album Of The Year: Gord Downie, Secret Path
  • Alternative Album Of The Year: July Talk, Touch
  • Rock Album Of The Year: The Tragically Hip, Man Machine Poem
  • Rap Recording Of The Year: Jazz Cartier, “Hotel Paranoia.”
  • Dance Recording Of The Year: Bit Funk Featuring Shae Jacobs, “Off The Ground.”
  • R&B/Soul Recording Of The Year: The Weeknd, “Starboy”
  • Instrumental Album Of The Year: The Fretless, Bird’s Nest.
  • Children’s Album Of The Year: Diana Panton, I Believe In Little Things.
  • Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year: A Tribe Called Red, “R.E.D.” (Featuring Yasiin Bey, Narcy and Black Bear) and “Sila” (Featuring Tanya Tagaq) from We Are The Halluci Nation.
  • Recording Engineer Of The Year: Jason Dufour for “Push + Pull” And “Beck + Call” from July Talk’s Touch.
  • Recording Package Of The Year: Gord Downie, Secret Path — Jonathan Shedletzky (Art Director), Isis Essery (Designer) and Jeff Lemire (Illustrator).
  • Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year: Mandroid Echostar, Coral Throne.
  • World Music Album Of The Year: Okavango African Orchestra, Okavango African Orchestra

Country Music Awards of Ontario (CMAO)

Congratulations to these OMF-supported nominated artists. For a full list of nominees click here.
The winners will be announced on June 21, 2017.