> Home > Book > Trillium Book Award

Trillium Book Award





Winners of the 2015 Trillium Book Award

Trillium Logo

Finalists for the 2015 Trillium Book Award announced.

The announcement of the winners will take place on June 17, 2015.
Come celebrate our Trillium Book Award finalists. Please join us the evening of June 16, 2015 at a Public Authors Reading Event taking place at the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge Street, Toronto.  Several of the shortlisted authors for the Trillium Book Awared will read from their nominated titles. There is no admission fee – it is first come, first seated. Doors will open to the public at 6:30 pm, and the readings will commence at 7:00 pm. To register click here . If you require further information, please contact trillium2015@omdc.on.ca .

The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and writing.

This prestigious Award is the province’s leading award for literature. The quality of Ontario authors and writing speaks for itself with the international acclaim achieved by past Trillium winners including Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Timothy Findley and Anne Michaels.

In 1994, the prize was expanded to include the Prix Trillium, a separate award for Ontario’s francophone writers and their publishers.

The award given to the author of each winning book is $20,000 and their publishers receive $2,500 for the marketing and promotion of the titles.

In 2003, there was a further enhancement to the traditional Trillium Book Award with the creation of the new Trillium Book Award for Poetry for new and emerging poets. A first, second or third work by a poet is eligible and each award recipient receives $10,000 and $2,000 is given to the winning publishers.

In 2006 the awards in the French language were enhanced such that the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French language is awarded every two years, with eligible titles over the two years considered for the Award. The Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French language is offered in the alternate years that the Poetry French language award is not given out. Similar to the Trillium Book Award for Poetry, the award recipient receives $10,000 and $2,000 is given to the winning publisher.

The Trillium Award is open to books in any genre: fiction, non-fiction, drama, children’s books and poetry. Anthologies and translations are not eligible. A jury of writers and figures from the literary community judges all submissions and selects the winning titles.

Submissions for the Trillium Book Award for eligible titles published in 2014 are now being   accepted.  Please refer to the full guidelines and eligibility requirements, and the appropriate submission forms, posted below.


December 17, 2014 – for titles published between January and October 2014
January 20, 2015  – for titles published in November and December 2014

Trillium Book Award Guidelines and Call for Submissionspdf icon
Trillium Book Award Submission FormMS Word icon
Trillium Book Award for Poetry FormMS Word icon

OMDC Anniversary Booklet cover

Trillium Book Award Winning Ontario Authors
A list of previous Trillium Book Award winners

2015 Trillium Book Award Finalists

Janet Hawkins 
Program Consultant, Industry Initiatives 
Phone: 416-642-6698


Funding Deadlines

September 15, 2015
Ontario Authors Tour Support

October 5, 2015
Interactive Digital Media Fund

October 29, 2015
OMF - Music Industry Development

November 9, 2015
OMDC Research Grants

Contact Us

Janet Hawkins
Program Consultant, Industry Initiatives
Phone: 416-642-6698
Email: jhawkins@omdc.on.ca


Bianca Spence
Program Coordinator, Industry Initiatives
Phone: 416-642-6652
Email: programs2@omdc.on.ca