OMDC Newsletter
Summer 2016

Great Summer Reading Begins With The 2016 Trillium Book Award Shortlisted Titles!

Click on the links below to listen to the authors talk about their nominated books to start your summer reading list!

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium:

Lynn Crosbie, Where Did You Sleep Last Night (House of Anansi Press)   Andrew Forbes, What You Need (Invisible Publishing)
Kevin Hardcastle, Debris (Biblioasis)   Robert Hough, The Man Who Saved Henry Morgan (House of Anansi Press)
Janette Platana, A Token of My Affliction (Tightrope Books)   Karen Solie, The Road In Is Not the Same Road Out (House of Anansi Press)


French Finalists for the Prix Trillium/Trillium Book Award:

Alain Doom, Un neurinome sur une balançoire (Éditions Prise de parole   Véronique-Marie Kaye, Marjorie Chalifoux (Éditions Prise de Parole)
Caroline Durand, Nourrir la machine humaine (McGill-Queen’s University Press)   Didier Leclair, Pour l’amour de Dimitri (Éditions Prise de Parole)
Carlos Taveira, Mots et marées, tome 2 : Les maux Marie-Josèphe-Angélique (Les Éditions L’Interligne)    


Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

Madhur Anand, A New Index for Predicting Catastrophes (McClelland and Stewart)   Soraya Peerbaye, Tell: poems for a girlhood (Pedlar Press)
Damian Rogers, Dear Leader (Coach House Books)    


Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in French language:

Sonia Lamontagne, Comptine à rebours (Éditions Prise de Parole)   Gilles Latour, Mots qu’elle a faits terre (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

David Ménard, Neuvaines (Les Éditions L’Interligne)    

Celebrating Austin Clarke: A Great Literay Talent – June 26, 1934-June 26, 2016

In 2003 Austin Clarke was a co-winner of the Trillium Book Award for The Polished Hoe (Thomas Allen Publishers). The Polished Hoe also won the Giller Prize. In 2012, Austin participated in a 25th Anniversary reading series celebrating with past Trillium Award winners Ontario’s rich literary talent.

photo courtesy of Kevin Bhookun

On March 7, 2012, Rachel Harry emceed the Trillium Book Award Public Reading featured past winning authors: (L to R - Click on links to watch the author readings) Ian Brown, Anne Michaels, Wayson Choy, Nino Ricci, Richard B. Wright, Jane Urquhart and Austin Clarke.