OMDC Newsletter OMDC Newsletter
Summer 2016

Celebrating Literary Excellence by Ontario Authors at The 2016 Trillium Book Award!

OMDC is proud to announce the Trillium Book Award, Ontario's premiere prize in literature, celebrating our province's diverse writing talent for the past 29 years. Established to honour excellence in prose and poetry in both of Canada's official languages, the award is open to books in any genre.

2016 Trillium Book Award Finalists: (Front Row) Mark Sakamoto, Janette Platana, Véronique-Marie Kaye, Madhur Anand, Sonia Lamontagne, Caroline Durand, Soraya Peerbaye, Janet Hawkins (Row 2) Robert Hough, David Ménard, Alain Doom, Karen Solie, Andrew Forbes, Damian Rogers, Lynn Crosbie, Kevin Hardcastle, Gilles Latour, Didier Leclair, Carlos Taveira and Karen Thorne-Stone

Click on links below to watch videos from the award’s ceremony.

Karen Thorne-Stone, OMDC’s President & CEO, Welcoming Remarks

Heather Hiscox, Trillium Emcee Opening Ceremony Remarks

On June 22, 2016, OMDC’s President and CEO, Karen Thorne-Stone, OMDC Board Chair, Mark Sakamoto, and emcee Heather Hiscox hosted the award ceremony announcing the 2016 Trillium Book Award winners.

The 2016 Trillium Book Award Winners: Mark Sakamoto, Chair of OMDC; David Ménard, Véronique-Marie Kaye, Soraya Peerbaye, Kevin Hardcastle and Karen Thorne-Stone, President & CEO of OMDC

The Winner for the 2016 Trillium Book Award
Kevin Hardcastle, Debris (Biblioasis)

Mark Sakamoto, Kevin Hardcastle, and John Metcalfe

The Winner for the 2016 Trillium Book Award - French-language: Véronique-Marie Kaye, Marjorie Chalifoux (Éditions Prise de parole)
Mark Sakamoto, Véronique-Marie Kaye and Denise Traux

The Winner for the 2016 Trillium Book Award in English-language is: Soraya Peerbaye, Tell: poems for a girlhood (Pedlar Press)
Mark Sakamoto, Aga Maksimowska and Soraya Peerbaye

The Winner for the 2016 Trillium Book Award for Poetry - French-language: David Ménard, Neuvaines (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
Mark Sakamoto, David Ménard and Michel-Rémi Lafond

Mark Sakamoto, Chair of the OMDC
Closing Remarks

Mark Sakamoto, Maureen Adamson, Deputy Minister of Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport (MTCS) and Kevin Finnerty, Assistant Deputy Minister, MTCS

Janet Hawkins, Damian Rogers and Bianca Spence OMDC looks forward to next year’s 30th Trillium Book Award anniversary!

For more photos from the award ceremony click here.

OMDC Welcomes New Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport - Eleanor McMahon

Eleanor McMahon was first elected to the Ontario legislature in 2014 as the MPP for Burlington.

McMahon currently serves as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.

She has spent her career in senior roles in business, government and the not-for-profit sector. McMahon held a number of roles on Parliament Hill early in her career, including as Press Secretary to Jean Chrétien. She has served as Director of Public Affairs at the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, as well as Vice President at the Canadian Chamber of Commerce. McMahon has also been Director of Public Affairs at Petro-Canada, Vice President at United Way Ottawa and Executive Director of Public Affairs at the Ontario Medical Association.

In 2006, her husband, OPP Sergeant Greg Stobbart, was killed in a cycling collision with a driver with five convictions for driving under suspension. That led McMahon to launch a campaign to improve road safety and enhance legislation in Ontario. In 2008, she launched the Share the Road Cycling Coalition, a provincial cycling policy and advocacy organization created to unite cycling organizations from across Ontario and work with municipalities to make their communities more bicycle-friendly.

McMahon lobbied successfully for enhanced penalties for suspended drivers in Ontario. This led to the passage of Greg’s Law in 2009 to reduce the number of suspended drivers and repeat offenders on Ontario’s roads.

In This Issue

Disponible en français

Twitter Follow us on Twitter
Facebook Join us on Facebook
YouTube Follow us on YouTube