OMDC Newsletter
Spring 2016

Congratulations to 2016 Canadian Screen Award Winners!

Ontario talent shone brightly at the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards. Here are just a few highlights from Ontario’s award-winning Television, Digital and Film recipients:

David Gross, Jacob Tremblay, and Emma Donoghue | Best Motion Picture | OMDC-Supported -Room

David Gross| Room | Best Film
Emma Donoghue | Room | Adapted Screenplay
Jacob Tremblay | Room Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
  Room – OMDC-supported film – Academy Award® Winner – Best Actress - Brie Larson
Peter Gentile and Alan Zweig | OMDC-Supported Feature -Hurt | Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award
Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program | Michele Hozer, Janice Dawe | Sugar Coated
Joanne Hansen | OMDC-Supported -Beeba Boys | Achievement in Costume Design
Clement Virgo, Lawrence Hill | The Book of Negroes | Best Writing in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series
Bill Niven, Stephan James, Aunjanue Ellis, Damon D'Oliveria, Clement Virgo, Lyriq Bent | OMDC-Supported - The Book of Negroes | Best TV Movie or Limited Series
James Milward, Ryan Andal, Katherine Rawson, Allen Martin, Damon D'Oliveira | The Book of Negroes- Interactive | Best Cross-Platform Project - Fiction
Lyriq Bent | The Book of Negroes | Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series Shailyn Pierre-Dixon | The Book of Negroes | Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Series
Anita Lee, David Oppenheim, Gerry Flahive, Katerina Cizek, Pietro Gagliano | Highrise: Universe Within|Best Original Interactive Production Produced for Digital Media
Jamie M. Dagg | River | Best First Feature Nick Serino | Sleeping Giant | Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Sarah Levy, Emily Hampshire, Jennifer Robertson, Daniel Levy, Catherine O'Hara, Eugene Levy, Annie Murphy | Schitt's Creek | Best Comedy Series Degrassi Cast and Crew | Degrassi | Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series
Ira Levy, Peter Williamson, Joan Lambur, Mark Evestaff, Dan Abdo, Michael Feder, Jason Patterson, Mauro Casalese | Rocket Monkeys | Best Animated Program or Series J. Johnson, Blair Powers, Tim McKeon, Paul Siefken, Adam Peltzman, Matthew J.R. Bishop, Georgina Lopez | Odd Squad - TVO /Sinking Ship Entertainment| Best Pre-School Program or Series
Pietro Gagliano, Ryan Andal, Kathryn Rawson, Todd Feaver, Jesse Shamata | Gaming Show Interactive | Best Cross- Platform Project- Children's and Youth Gerald Lunz, Rick Mercer | Rick Mercer Report | Best Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series
Ari Millen | Orphan Black | Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role Sol Friedman | Bacon & God's Wrath | Best Short Documentary

2016 Canadian Screen Award-Academy Special Awards

Eugene Levy and Catherine O'Hara | Academy Legacy Award Martin Short | Lifetime Achievement Award
Brent Butt, David Storey, Virginia Thompson, Eric Peterson and Tara Spencer-Nairn | OMDC-Supported - Corner Gas - The Movie | Golden Screen Award for TV Drama or Comedy
Karen Walton | Margaret Collier Award Ana Serrano – Digital Trailblazer Award – Sponsored by OMDC
John Brunton, Barbara Bowlby, Mark Lykowski, Mike Bickerton, Sarah James & Kyle Martin | The Amazing Race Canada | Golden Screen Award for TV Reality Show
Wendy Crewson | Earle Grey Award Yannick Bisson | Fan's Choice Award
Adrian Luces, Patty Gail, Jeff Braunstein | PAL Canada | Humanitarian Award   Anna-Karina Tabunar, Anne Marie Varner, David Errington | Canada in Perspective | Diversity Award
Anthony Montano, Michael Nunan | MMVAs | Outstanding Technical Achievement Award Marie Claude Beauchamp | La Guerre Des Tuques 3D - Snowtime! | Cineplex Golden Screen Award for Feature Film
Mark Starowicz | Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism Ivan Fecan, Lloyd Robertson | Academy Board of Director's Tribute

For a full list of 2016 Canadian Screen Awards nominees and winners click here. G. Pimentel Photography