OMDC Newsletter
November 2013

Ontario filmmaker Bruce LaBruce’s Gerontophilia (produced by New Real Films’ Jennifer Jonas and Leonard Farlinger) won the Focus Grand Prize for Best Feature Film at the Festival du Nouveau Cinema.

Congratulations to DGC Award Winners

Here are some Ontario winners:


Best Feature Film
Presented by Platinum Sponsor, Technicolor
Midnight’s Children - Deepa Mehta, Director; Reid Dunlop, 1st Assistant Director; Andrea Greaney, Production Accountant.



Best Director – Feature Film, Presented by Gold Sponsor, Deluxe - Michael McGowanStill Mine

Best Television Series Drama
Presented by Gold Sponsor, PS Production Services Ltd. and SIM Digital
The Borgias; The Choice – Kari Skogland, Director; Lisa Grootenboer, Picture Editor; Dan Briceno, 1st Assistant Picture Editor; Anna Sofrygina, 2nd Assistant Picture Editor; Ana Yavari, 2nd Assistant Picture Editor; Jane Tattersall, Sound Effects Editor; Dale Sheldrake, ADR and Dialogue Editor; David McCallum, Dialogue Editor; Martin Gwynn Jones, Assistant Sound Editor; Andrew Jablonski, Assistant ADR Editor; Linda Gillespie, Production Accountant; Camille Mansfield, 1st Assistant Accountant.

Allan King Award For Excellence In Documentary
Presented by Silver Sponsor, Rogers Group of Funds
Stories We Tell - Sarah Polley, Director; Mike Munn, Picture Editor; Dave Forsyth, 1st Assistant Director

Pinball RPG game Rollers Of The Realm by Phantom Compass - an OMDC-supported project - got greenlit by Steam. The project will advance through Steam Greenlight, and be offered worldwide distribution via Steam. Congrats to the team! Read more here.

Tickets to the 2013 Crystal Awards Gala Luncheon are available here. This event always sells out so be sure to get your tickets early! Congratulations to the 2013 Crystal Award winners ! Click here for award descriptions and winners’ bios.

“Exemplary role models, these four women are truly deserving of this public recognition for their commitment to excellence and pushing of boundaries in their chosen fields.”
- Heather Webb, WIFT-T Executive Director

Semi Chellas
Creative Excellence Award, Director/Producer/Screenwriter
  Lalita Krishna
Mentorship Award, Director/Producer/Writer
Margaret O’Brien
Outstanding Achievement in Business Award, President, Canada and COO, Entertainment One Television
  Sheila Hockin
Special Jury Award of Distinction, Producer