OMDC Newsletter
May 2014
Trillium Logo

Get Ready This Year’s Trillium Book Award Announcement!

Shortlisted authors for the 2014 Trillium Book Award will be announced on May 21, 2014. Mark your calendars for a public reading by Ontario authors shortlisted for this year’s Trillium Book Awards on June 16, 2014. For more information email: . The winners’ announcement will be made on the evening of June 17, 2014.

Ontario at Cannes

Two OMDC Film Fund-Supported Features Selected to Screen at Festival de Cannes!  
Atom Egoyan’s THE CAPTIVE has been selected for official competition for the Palme d'Or.Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\The Captive - aka -QueenOfTheNight\The Captive\QOTN-0420.jpg
    Director: Atom Egoyan
Producers: Simone Urdl, Jennifer Weiss, Stephen Traynor, Atom Egoyan

David Cronenberg's MAPS TO THE STARS has been selected for official competition for the Palme d'Or.C:\Users\saw\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\MTTS_00439-updated-April-3-2014.jpgDirector: David Cronenberg
Producers: Martin Katz, Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt



Celebrating Canada at Cannes

On May 7, 2014, Telefilm Canada, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles, the Canadian Media Production Association and Maison Birks gathered the filmmaking industry at Toronto’s Storys Building to applaud the historic year for Canadian talent at Cannes.

Photo credit: George Pimentel

From left to right Front: Matthew De Filippis, Elisia Mirabelli, Miriam Levin-Gold, Sol Friedman, Tara Woodbury
Middle: Michael Seater, Paula Brancati, Jennifer Weiss, Eric K. Boulianne, Martin Katz, Rémi St-Michel, David Cronenberg, Simone Urdl, Stephen Traynor, Atom Egoyan, David Fraser, Claude Fournier, Stéphane Lafleur, Kim McCraw, Marie-José Raymond, Lyse Lafontaine, Mike MacMillan, Leslie Aimee Gottlieb, Linsey Stewart, Ben Shirinian, Dane Clark
Back: Bruce LaBruce, Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre, Karen Thorne-Stone, David Sparks, Carolle Brabant, Paul Scherzer, Félize Frappier, Guy Édoin, Albert Shinngée

Hot Docs 2014 Awards

Congratulations to Ontario documentary filmmakers: John Kastner (Out of Mind, Out of Sight) and Thomas Wallner (Before the Last Curtain Falls) On their awards at Hot Docs 2014! Click here for a full list of winners.

Best Canadian Feature Documentary Award: Out Of Mind, Out Of Sight   Special Jury Prize - Canadian Feature Documentary: Before The Last Curtain Falls
Toronto-based producer Michael McNamara was honoured with the 2014 Don Haig Award at this year’s Hot Docs Award Ceremony.   The Backward Class Wins 2014 Hot Docs Audience Award


Toronto-based Six Shooter Records has released over 80 records from artists like Whitehorse, Deep Dark Woods, The Strumbellas, Amelia Curran, and more. + Read More