OMDC Newsletter
winter 2014

Watermark – Winner of The TFCA’s 2014 Rogers Best Canadian Film Award

Credit / Courtesy: Photo © Edward Burtynsky / Courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto

Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky’s feature documentary Watermark (an OMDC Film Fund recipient) won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s 2014 Rogers Best Canadian Film Award. Watermark will have its European premiere at the Berlin Film Festival and is up for a 2014 Canadian Screen Award for Best Feature Documentary.

The 2014 Canadian Screen Awards (#CdnScreen14) nominees have been announced!

OMDC Film Fund-Supported Features Nominated for 2014 Canadian Screen Awards include:

Enemy - 10 nominations
The F Word - 5 nominations   The Colony - 2 nominations
The Art of The Steal - 2 nominations   Cas & Dylan - 1 nomination
Cottage Country - 1 nomination   Quality Balls: The David Steinberg Story- 1 nomination


Academy Special Awards at 2014 Canadian Screen Awards!

Congratulations to all honourees receiving a Special Award from the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television at the 2014 Canadian Screen Awards including these talented people who have contributed to Ontario’s screen and broadcast industry:
“The Academy is proud to celebrate these exceptionally talented Canadians, and to recognize their successes at home and on the world stage,” says Academy Chair Martin Katz.

Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute - Ted Kotcheff   Lifetime Achievement Award - David Cronenberg
Margaret Collier Award - Sponsored by Halfire - CORE Entertainment - Semi Chellas   Digital Media Trailblazing Award (Posthumously) - Sponsored by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) - Alan Sawyer
Earle Grey Award - Colm Feore   Gordon Sinclair Award for Broadcast Journalism - W5
Academy Board of Directors’ Tribute (Posthumously) -Marge Anthony   Outstanding Technical Achievement Award - CTV News’ iGATEWAY


Ontario Film, TV and Interactive Nominated for 2014 CSAs!

Here are just a few Ontario productions up for a Canadian Screen Awards.