OMDC Newsletter
2015 Highlights

Ontario – Home to Award-Winning Interactive Digital Media Content

OMDC Proud to Support The Annual Canadian Videogame Awards (CVA) and The FANZONE!
Congratulations to all Canadian Videogame Award (CVA) nominees from Ontario!

On December 6, 2015, Canada’s video game industry celebrated its finest developers at the Canadian Videogame Awards (CVAs) at the Mattamy Centre in Toronto. A number of Ontario developers and OMDC-supported projects were nominated with Metanet taking home the Fans’ Choice Award for Best Canadian-Made Game for their fast-paced, action-packed puzzle platformer N++.

Back Row - Cathy Feraday Miller, Mark Mikulec, Martin Gauvreau, Jon Remedios, Thomas Detko, Kyle Cahill, Gareth Elliott, Urmi Bardhan, Erin Siegel, Tim Miller
Front Row - James Weyman, Vanessa Chia, Alkas Baybas, Jamie Tucker, Karolina Tomaszewska, Henrique Barbieri and Kim Gibson (in front)

As a lead up to the Awards, CVA Fan Fest on Saturday and Sunday featured a number of events including an eSports Competition, Meet and Greets and exhibitors in The Winter Bit Bazaar. Ontario companies were also on hand to demo their products in the Ontario Alley.

The Ontario Alley in Action   Kings of Pool by Uken Games with Karolina Tomaszewksa, Chris Ye and Kim Gibson
Planet of the Eyes by Cococucumber with Martin Gauvreau and Vanessa Chia   Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime by Asteroid Base
Long Story by Bloom Digital Media   Fortified by Clapfoot
Pop Rocket Rescue by Guru Arcade   SSMP by Jon Remedios Games
Cupkins by Joydrop   Auto Age Standoff by Rollers of the Realm
Kitty Disastrous by Rocket 5 Studios   Halcyon 6 by Massive Damage

Visit OMDC’s CVA Fanzone Facebook Gallery for more photos from this event.

OMDC-Supported Content Garnered Awards in 2015


2015 Canadian Screen Award - Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Fiction
Space Riders: Division Earth (iThentic) Lisa Baylin, Dan Beirne, Jonas Diamond, Mark Little, Catherine Tait




2015 Canadian Screen Award - Best Cross-Platform Project – Children’s and Youth - GrojbandThe Show Must Go -  On! / (Secret Location, Fresh TV)/Noora Abu Eitah, Ryan Andal, Pietro Gagliano, Tom McGillis, James Milward



2015 CSA Best Performance in a Program or Series Produced for Digital Media - Guidestones: Sunflower Noir (iThentic, 3 o’ - Supinder Wraich

Four OMDC IDM Fund-Supported Web Series Garner Acclaim at the IAWTV Awards


Whatever, Linda! (Secret Location and Touchpoint Films)

  • Best Drama Series Prize
  • Award for Best Directing (Drama) – Matt Eastman

Ruby Skye PI: The Maltese Puppy (CBC)

  • Best Children’s Series

Guidestones: Sunflower Noir (iThentic and 3 o’clock.TV)

  • Best Editing Award - Thom Smalley, Anthony Bair and Lawrence Jackman

Space Riders: Division Earth (iThentic)

  • Best Comedy Writing - Dan Beirne and Mark Little