OMDC Newsletter
2015 Highlights

The Book of Negroes (OMDC Success Story – Conquering Lion Productions)

  • 2015 DGC Award - Best Television Movie/Mini-Series  
  • 2015 DGC Award- Best Direction – Television Movie/Mini-Series - Clement Virgo
  • 2015 DGC Award- Best Production Design – Television Movie/Mini-Series - Jason Clarke – The Book of Negroes, Episode 5
  • 2015 DGC Award- Best Picture Editing – Television Movie/Mini-Series - Susan Shipton – The Book of Negroes, Episode 6

2015 Academy Icon Award - Insight Production Company Ltd.

Barbara Bowlby and John Brunton of Insight    

Jacob Hoggard performs at the 2015 JUNO Awards. The JUNOs have been produced by Insight Productions for over two decades. + Read More

2015 Playback’s Best of the Year - Temple Street Productions

David Fortier, Ivan Schneeberg, John Young / Photo credit: Matt Forsythe    

Temple Street’s Orphan Black, filmed in Toronto, has been a worldwide hit series. + Read More

2015 DGC Award - Best Television Series – Drama - Orphan Black, By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried

Playback’s Best of the Year: Shaftesbury’s Murdoch Mysteries

Get ready for Murdoch Mysteries Holiday Special on December 21! Looking forward to the second season of season nine in January 2016.

2015 CSA - Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series Sponsor Family Channel –Degrassi - MuchMusic/MTV (Bell Media) (Epitome Pictures Inc.) Stefan Brogren,Sarah Glinski, Matt Huether, David Lowe, Linda Schuyler, Stephen Stohn, Stephanie Williams



2015 CSA - Best International Drama Sponsor - BBC Worldwide - Vikings
History Channel Canada (Shaw Media) (Take 5 Productions) John Weber, Sheila Hockin, Michael Hirst, Morgan O'Sullivan, James Flynn, Alan Gasmer, Sherry Marsh



2015 CSA - Best Children's or Youth Non‐Fiction Program or Series - Japanizi: Going, Going, Gong!, YTV (Corus Entertainment) (marblemedia) Mark J.W. Bishop, Susan Edwards, Matthew Hornburg, Stephen J. Turnbull



2015 CSA - Best Animated Program or Series Sponsor Breakthrough Entertainment - Rocket Monkeys, Teletoon (Corus Entertainment) (Breakthrough Entertainment) Dan Abdo, Casalese, Mark Evestaff, Joan Lambur, Ira Levy, Jason Patterson, Stephanie VanBruggen, Peter Williamson G. Pimentel Photography

Congratulations to all 2015 CSA Winners!
Click here for a full list of nominees and winners in every category.

Congratulations to Ontario’s Sinking Ship Entertainment for winning three Daytime Emmy Awards for their shows: Dino Dan: Trek's Adventures and Odd Squad!


Dino Dan:Trek Adventures

Outstanding Children’s Preschool Series - Dino Dan: Trek’s Adventure - Sinking Ship Entertainment


Odd Squad

Outstanding Directing in a Children’s or Pre-School Children’s Series - Odd Squad -Sinking Ship Entertainment

  • Director - J.J. Johnson
  • Outstanding Hairstyling - Odd Squad - Sinking Ship Entertainment - Key Hairstylist - Patricia Cuthbert


Kidscreen Awards – Congratulations to these Ontario Winners


Peg + Cat (9 Story Media Group/The Fred Rogers Company)

  • Programming—Preschool Category - Best Animated Series 2015 /Best New Series 2015
  • Creative Talent Category - Best Voice Talent 2015 / Best Music 2015

Congratulations to Ontario’s 9 Story Media Group on also winning a Daytime Emmy Award for Peg+Cat - Outstanding Writing In A Preschool Animated Program


Dino Dan: Trek’s Adventures (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Programming—Preschool Category - Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series 2015


Stella and Sam Holiday Specials (Stella & Sam Productions) 
Programming—Preschool Category - Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie 2015


Fangbone! (Radical Sheep Productions)
Programming—Kids Category - Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie 2015


iKids Awards – marblemedia’s Hi Opie! – Co-Winner, Best Website (Preschool) – Hi


iKids Awards – DHX Media’s In The Night Garden - Co-Winner, Best Website (Preschool)