OMDC Newsletter
December 2014

Great Ontario-Produced Content on the Small Screen


The Conquering Lion-produced miniseries The Book of Negroes, starring Cuba Gooding, Jr. and Aunjuane Ellis, will air on CBC and BET in 2015. More


Watch the 10-part TV documentary series The Polar Sea on TVO this December. Read more +

Playback Canada’s 2014 Show of the Year (Scripted): Vikings
Vikings is a sprawling Canadian-Irish historical drama series co-produced by Take 5 Productions and Octagon Films.
+ Read More about Take 5 productions.

Justin Time and Rocket Monkeys Winners of the 2014 Shaw Rocket Prize!



Justin Time - Shaw Rocket Prize Winner Preschool (5 years and Under)
Production Company: Guru Studio / Producers: Amy Robson, Mary Bredin, Frank Falcone
  2014 Canadian Screen Award - Television | Best Pre-School Program or Series | Justin Time
(Bell Media) Brandon James Scott, Fran Falcone, Mary Bredin
Rocket Monkeys – Shaw Rocket Prize Winner – Children (6-12 Years)
Production Company: Breakthrough Entertainment / Producers: Ira Levy, Joan Lambur, Mark Evestaff
  2014 CSA Television | Shaw Media Award for Best Dramatic Series | Orphan Black | Space (Bell Media) (Temple Street Productions) | Claire Welland, David Fortier, Graeme Manson, Ivan Schneeberg, John Fawcett, Karen Walton, Kerry Appleyard
2014 Canadian Screen Award -Television | Best Children's or Youth Program or Series | Sponsor DHX
Media | Degrassi (MuchMusic Bell Media) (Epitome Pictures Inc.)
  2014 Canadian Screen Award - Television | Best Children's or Youth Non-Fiction Program or Series | Splatalot | Mark J. W. Bishop, Matthew Hornburg, Stephen Turnbull, Steve Sloan
2014 Canadian Screen Award -Television | Best Animated Program or Series | Sponsor Breakthrough Entertainment | Almost Naked Animals | Steven Jarosz, Tanya Green, Tristan Homer, Vince Commisso   2014 Canadian Screen Award Televison | Best International Drama | Sponsor BBC Worldwide | The Borgias (Bravo!, Bell Media) (Take 5 Productions, Octagon Films) | Neil Jordan, Sheila Hockin, John Weber, James Flynn
2014 Canadian Screen Award - Digital Media | Best Cross-Platform Project - Children's and Youth – The Next Step Interactive – Barbara Bailie, Michael Goldsmith, James Milward, David Fortier, Ivan Schneeberg, Frank Van Keeken, Ryan Andal, Pietro Gagliano, Noora Abu Eithah, Michel Pratte, Laura Harbin, Chloe Van Keeken, Rachael Schaefer    

Congratulations to the 2014 WIFT-T Crystal Award Winners

Outstanding Achievement in Business: Barbara Bowlby
President & Chief Operating Officer, Executive Producer, Insight Productions


Creative Excellence: Sally Catto
General Manager, Programming for English Television, CBC

Mentorship Award: Corrie Coe
Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media


Special Jury Award of Distinction: Trina McQueen
O.C., Adjunct Professor, MBA Program in Arts and Media Administration, Schulich School Of Business, York University