OMDC Newsletter
December 2013

Ontario’s Film and Television Industry Celebrated Awards on the Big and Small Screen

Canada's Top Ten Film Festival
Canada's Top Ten Film Festival celebrates and promotes contemporary Canadian cinema and is intended to raise public awareness of Canadian achievements in film. Join us next year from Friday, January 3 to Sunday, January 12 to celebrate another year of excellent Canadian films. Congratulations to these Ontario films making the top ten!

Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival feature film selections for 2013 includes five Ontario features and three shorts: the trailers of the top ten features.
To purchase your tickets click here.

Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg   Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg
OMDC Film Fund – supported, Enemy, Denis Villeneuve
(Entertainment One Films) 
  OMDC Film Fund – supported, The F Word, Michael Dowse (Entertainment One Films)
Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg   Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg
Credit / Courtesy: Photo © Edward Burtynsky /Courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto
OMDC Film Fund – supported, Watermark, Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky (Mongrel Media)
  Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film at TIFF 2013
Asphalt Watches, Shayne Ehman and Seth Scriver
(Delusional Brothers)
Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg   Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg
The City of Toronto & Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film at TIFF 2013
When Jews Were Funny, Alan Zweig (KinoSmith)
  YouTube Award for Canadian Best Short Film at TIFF 2013
Noah, Walter Woodman, Patrick Cederberg
Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg   Z:\PHOTOS & EPK\PHOTOS - Production Stills\Enemy\ENEMY_DAY21-0168-FINAL.jpg
Paradise Falls, Fantavious Fritz   Subconscious Password, Chris Landreth
The Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA) announced The 2013 Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award will be awarded to producer and director Norman Jewison.   2013 TFCA - Filmmaker Matt Johnson has won the Scotiabank Jay Scott Prize for an emerging artist.
2013 DGC Awards - Best Feature Film - Midnight’s Children - Deepa Mehta, Director; Reid Dunlop, 1st Assistant Director; Andrea Greaney, Production Accountant
2013 DGC Awards - Best Director – Feature Film, Michael McGowanStill Mine
Ontario filmmaker Bruce LaBruce’s Gerontophilia (produced by New Real Films’ Jennifer Jonas and Leonard Farlinger) won the Focus Grand Prize for Best Feature Film at the Festival du Nouveau Cinema. Jennifer Jonas also won the CMPA’s Producer’s Award at TIFF 2013!

photo by Ken Woroner
Sarah Polley’s feature documentary, Stories We Tell, has won numerous awards including:Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA), the 2012 Rogers Best Canadian Film Award at the inaugural Canadian Screen Awards and Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary) award from the NY Film Critics Circle (NYFCC). Polley was also honoured with the Allan King Documentary Award for the same film. Stories We Tell is also one of 15 documentaries shortlisted for an Oscar® nomination in the Best Documentary category.
Don Carmody accepts the Cineplex Golden Reel Award for Resident Evil: Retribution, the highest box office in Canada last year. This is his 7th win! Don Carmody was also named Playback’s Producer of the Year.
The World Before Her   Cosmopolis
Congratulations to OMDC-supported films that won at the Vancouver Film Critics Circle Awards! The World Before Her (Directed by Nisha Pahuja) - Best Canadian Documentary. Sarah Gadon - Best Supporting Actress in a Canadian Film for her role in Cosmopolis.
Ontario’s SK Films’ Flight of the Butterflies Wins Eight Awards at the 2013 Giant Screen Cinema Association Achievement Awards including: Best Film, Best Cinematography, Best Score, Best Sound, Best Film for Lifelong Learning, Best Marketing by a Distributor, Best Film Launch by a Theatre and Best Educational Program.
OMDC-funded film, The Whistleblower, made it to the Hollywood Reporter's list of 21 Best-Ever Whistleblower Films.  

R.H. Thomson is the recipient of the 2014 ACTRA Toronto Award of Excellence. The award will be presented at the ACTRA Awards to be held in Toronto at The Carlu on Saturday, February 22, 2014.

2103 Canadian Screen Awards - Academy Board of Directors' Tribute – Flashpoint   2013 DCG Awards - Best Television Series – Drama - The Borgias; The Choice
Kari Skogland, Director; Lisa Grootenboer, Picture Editor; Dan Briceno, 1st Assistant Picture Editor; Anna Sofrygina, 2nd Assistant Picture Editor; Ana Yavari, 2nd Assistant Picture Editor; Jane Tattersall, Sound Effects Editor; Dale Sheldrake, ADR and Dialogue Editor; David McCallum, Dialogue Editor; Martin Gwynn Jones, Assistant Sound Editor; Andrew Jablonski, Assistant ADR Editor; Linda Gillespie, Production Accountant; Camille Mansfield, 1st Assistant Accountant.
The Disney Channel has picked up Guru Studio's Justin Time for its channels in Central and
Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.The four-year deal includes Pay TV rights for the first two seasons of the Emmy-nominated preschool series.
  2013 Canadian Screen Awards - Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series :
Degrassi - Season 11 (Epitome Pictures Inc.) - Linda Schuyler, Stefan Brogren, David Lowe, Stephen Stohn, Stephanie Williams, Brendon Yorke

Congratulations to the 2013 Crystal Award winners! Click here for award descriptions and winners’ bios.

Semi Chellas
Creative Excellence Award, Director/Producer/Screenwriter
  Lalita Krishna
Mentorship Award, Director/Producer/Writer
Margaret O’Brien
Outstanding Achievement in Business Award, President, Canada and COO, Entertainment One Television
  Sheila Hockin
Special Jury Award of Distinction, Producer