OMDC Newsletter OMDC Newsletter
April 2015

2015 Ontario JUNO Award Winners

Here are just a few highlights from Hamilton. For a complete list of winners click here.

SINGLE OF THE YEAR - Rude Magic!(Sony) / BREAKTHROUGH GROUP OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Factor, The Government Of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage [Canada Music Fund] and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters) Magic! (Sony)
ARTIST OF THE YEAR - The Weeknd (The Weeknd XO*Universal) / R&B/SOUL RECORDING OF THE YEAR - Often The Weeknd (The Weeknd  XO*Universal)

GROUP OF THE YEAR - Arkells (Arkells Music*Universal) / ROCK ALBUM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by SIRIUSXM Canada) - High Noon Arkells (Arkells Music*

SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by SIRIUSXM Canada) Bahamas “All the Time”, “Bitter Memories”, “Stronger Than That” BAHAMAS IS AFIE – Bahamas (Barchords*Universal) / ADULT ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Bahamas Is Afie Bahamas(Barchords*Universal)
ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Long & Mcquade) - July Talk July Talk (Sleepless*Universal)   POP ALBUM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by TD) - Little Machines Lights (Lights Music*Universal)
VOCAL JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Red Diana Panton (Diana Panton*eOne)   JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR: SOLO Vista Obscura - Kirk MacDonald (Addo*Conveyor)
JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR: GROUP - Jane Bunnett and Maqueque Jane Bunnett and Maqueque (Justin Time*Universal)   CLASSICAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR: LARGE ENSEMBLE OR SOLOIST(S) WITH LARGE ENSEMBLE ACCOMPANIMENT - MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 22 & 24 Angela Hewitt (Hyperion*HM)
RAP RECORDING OF THE YEAR - The Legends League Presents: Naturally Born Strangers Naturally Born Strangers (Legend’s League*
  REGGAE RECORDING OF THE YEAR - Welcome the King Exco Levi (Kheilstone*Independent)
WORLD MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Canada Council for the Arts)
500 Years of Night Quique Escamilla (Lulaworld*Outside)
  JACK RICHARDSON PRODUCER OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Slaight Music) - Adam Messinger “Change Your Life” (co-producer Nasri Atweh) THE NEW CLASSIC Iggy Azalea (Island Def Jam*Universal) “Rude” DON’T KILL THEMAGIC–Magic! (Sony)
RECORDING ENGINEER OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Ontario Institute Of Audio Recording Technology  [OIART]) - Eric Ratz “Ghosts” GHOSTS – Big Wreck (Anthem*Warner) “Satellite Hotel” BLACK BUFFALO One Bad Son (604*Universal)   ELECTRONIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Our Love Caribou (Merge*F.A.B)

Photos courtesy of CARAS.

In This Issue

Disponible en français

Twitter Follow us on Twitter
Facebook Join us on Facebook
YouTube Follow us on YouTube